Skip to Content

Guidelines to Complainants:Pre-hearing Procedures

[Download as PDF format] 

When a complainant (“the Complainant”) lodging a complaint against a registered social worker and filling in the Complaint Form, the Complainant should also take note of the following pre-hearing procedures which apply before a disciplinary hearing is held.

Submission of Documents and Evidence

  1. If the complaint is referred to the Board pursuant to section 25(3) of the Social Workers Registration Ordinance (the “Ordinance”), the Complainant is required to submit a Complainant's Case (in Form 1 as prescribed in the Rules in respect of Pre-hearing Procedures for Disciplinary Proceedings) which shall include all the relevant facts and evidence supporting the Complainant's complaint to the Board.

  2. The Complainant's Case must be submitted by the Complainant to the Registrar before the expiration of 30 days after the service on him of the s.27(1) notice (as defined in the Rules in respect of Pre-hearing Procedures for Disciplinary Proceedings).

  3. The respondent of the complaint ( “the Respondent”), if he intends to defend, shall submit a Respondent's Case to the Board to explain his position before the expiration of 30 days after the service on him of the Complainant's Case. The Complainant may reply to the Respondent's Case by submitting a Complainant's Reply (in Form 3 as prescribed in the Rules in respect of Pre-hearing Procedures for Disciplinary Proceedings) to the Board before the expiration of 14 days after the service on him of the Respondent's Case. Please note that the Complainant's Reply shall be limited to matters related to the Respondent's Case and shall annex any further documentary evidence on which the Complainant's Reply relies. The Respondent may submit a Respondent's Reply to the Complainant's Reply before the expiration of 14 days after the service on him of that Complainant's Reply.

  4. The Complainant may tender any other statements of other witnesses in the Complainant's Case and Complainant's Reply. Please note that such statements may only be submitted on condition that those witnesses making the statements will be present in the hearing for cross-examination.

  5. The Complainant shall observe the following rules when preparing the Cases, Replies, documentary evidence and witness statements:

    1. Any written submission contained in and any witness statements annexed to the Complainant's Case and Complainant's Reply shall be made in first person knowledge.

    2. Any written submission contained in and any witness statements annexed to the Complainant's Case and Complainant's Reply shall be drafted in paragraphs numbered consecutively. Each paragraph must present at most one point or issue as far as practicable.

    3. If the Complainant adduces documents as evidence, he must adduce the original copies of these documents. Any photocopy or non-original documents shall only be adduced if the Complainant can give satisfactory reasons for doing so. The presiding member of the Disciplinary Committee has a discretionary power to exclude the use of photocopies or non-original documents.

  6. After the deadline for submission of the Complainant's Case and Complainant's Reply, no further written submissions or documentary evidence shall be admitted without the written consent of the presiding member of the Disciplinary Committee.

  7. If the submission to be made by the Complainant to the hearing or on the Complainant's behalf at the hearing shall include any argument on legal issues and/or matters of statutory interpretation, the Complainant shall furnish to the Board at least 2 working days before the date of the hearing an outline sufficiently setting out the issues and/or matters and the arguments thereon together with copies of all statutes, cases and authorities to be relied on.

Application for Adjournment of Hearing

  1. If the Complainant needs to adjourn the fixed date of hearing notified, a written application to the Registrar is required, stating the grounds in support of adjournment with supportive documents where appropriate. The presiding member of the Disciplinary Committee shall consider such application, and may, where appropriate, impose conditions in allowing an adjournment of the hearing, for a period not more than 6 weeks.

 



Social Workers Registration Board
13 January 2016
TOP

跳至主要內容

投訴人指引 - 聆訊前程序

[以PDF格式下載

當投訴人提出投訴及填寫投訴表格時,請同時細閱以下程序,以便於投訴個案成立後,在紀律聆訊前作好準備。

提交文件和證據

  1. 如投訴人之投訴已按照社會工作者註冊條例(第505章)(“條例”)第25(3)條的規定轉介本局,則投訴人應按照《紀律聆訊前程序規則》表格1的格式,向本局提交投訴人陳述書。該陳述書應包含所有支持投訴人投訴的相關事實及文件證據。

  2. 投訴人須在第27(1)條通知(如《紀律聆訊前程序規則》中定義)送達他後30天屆滿前,向本局提交投訴人陳述書。

  3. 被投訴的答辯人(“答辯人”)須於投訴人陳述書送達他後30天屆滿前,向本局提交答辯人陳述書以解釋針對答辯人的指控,投訴人可在答辯人陳述書送達他後14天屆滿前,按照《紀律聆訊前程序規則》表格3的格式,提交投訴人回覆書對答辯人陳述書作出回覆。投訴人回覆書的內容應只涉及對答辯人陳述書內容的相關回應,且應隨其回覆書附上任何支持其理據的文件證據。答辯人亦可在投訴人回覆書送達他後14天屆滿前提交答辯人回覆書以對投訴人回覆書作出回覆。

  4. 投訴人可在投訴人陳述書或投訴人回覆書中附帶其他證人的證供。但唯有出席聆訊接受提問的證人方可提交證供。

  5. 投訴人在提交陳述書、回覆書、文件證據及證人證供時,請遵守以下規則:

    1. 任何包含在陳述書及回覆書內的書面陳詞及附錄於陳述書及回覆書的證人證供必須為第一人身陳述,不能為道聽途說。

    2. 任何包含在陳述書及回覆書內的書面陳詞及附錄於陳述書及回覆書的證人證供須以數目字清楚分段。每段只包含一項要點或事宜。

    3. 投訴人提供作為證據的文件必須是正本。如不能提供文件正本,投訴人必須提出充份理由。紀律委員會主席有酌情權決定是否接納任何文件副本作為聆訊用的證據。

  6. 投訴人在提交陳述書和回覆書的時限屆滿後,除非獲得紀律委員會主席書面同意,其他書面陳詞或文件證據將不獲接納。

  7. 如參與聆訊的任何一方擬於聆訊時就某法律觀點及/或法例釋義提出爭論,他必須在聆訊前最少兩個工作天向本局提交大綱,充分地列明擬提出的法律觀點及/或釋義,並把將會援引的法例、案例及典據的文本交予本局。

申請延遲聆訊日期

  1. 投訴人如有充份理據,欲延遲其被通知的聆訊日期,可以書面向本局註冊主任申請,函件內須詳列理據以支持該申請。紀律委員會主席將酌情考慮,如情況需要,或會有條件地批准延遲首次聆訊日期, 為期不超過六個星期。

 

(如中文譯本與英文原文有歧異時,以英文原文為準確。)


社會工作者註冊局
2016年1月13日
回到頁首